Section 1: How to Register to Vote? Where to Vote? When to Vote? How to Vote?:

Election Day is on Tuesday, November 2nd 2021 and polls are open 6 AM to 8 PM

  • Are you registered to VOTE?  Check here 



  • Vote by Mail Application: This year you WILL NOT receive a Vote by Mail Ballot automatically…If you would like to receive your ballot by mail you must request your ballot by Tuesday, October 26, 2021. Otherwise, you must get your vote-by-mail ballot in-person from your county clerk, by November 1st at 3 p.m. You have until 8 p.m. on Election Day to return your ballot to the Board of Elections in person or deposit it in one of your county’s secure authorized ballot drop boxes. You can also mail your ballot, it must be postmarked on or before 8:00 p.m. November 2 and be received by your county’s Board of Elections on or before November 8.You can find your County Clerk contact information here.



Section 2: The NJEA Proudly Endorses Governor Phil Murphy for Re-election

Name the topic and Governor Murphy has supported public school students and employees:

A really interesting interview is in the NJEA Review

Check out the NJEA Members for Murphy for a great comparison of the two candidates and how to get involved.

Section 3: The NJEA Endorsements for the State Legislature By District/Town

Governor Murphy needs like minded individuals in the Legislature to help pass bills that will help our public schools.  The following candidates went through the same endorsement process explained above.  We list the endorsed candidates by district and town for your convenience. If you do NOT live in a Bergen County district, you can find your endorsed candidates here or here.  The towns are listed below to show what district each town is in and the NJEA endorsed candidate.  

District 32 – (Bergen and Hudson)  East Newark, Edgewater, Fairview, Guttenberg, Harrison (Hudson), Kearny, North Bergen, Secaucus, West New York

  • LD 32: Nicholas J. Sacco (D) for Senate and Angelica M. Jimenez (D) and Pedro Mejia (D) for Assembly

District 35 – (Bergen and Passaic)  Elmwood Park, Garfield, Haledon, North Haledon, Paterson, Prospect Park

  • LD 35: Nellie Pou (D) for Senate and Shavonda E. Sumter (D) and Benjie E. Wimberly (D) for Assembly

District 36 – (Bergen and Passaic)  Carlstadt, Cliffside Park, East Rutherford, Little Ferry, Lyndhurst, Moonachie, North Arlington, Passaic, Ridgefield, Ridgefield Park, Rutherford, South Hackensack, Teterboro, Wallington, Wood-Ridge

  • LD 36: Paul A. Sarlo (D) for Senate and Clinton Calabrese (D) and Gary S. Schaer (D) for Assembly

District 37 – (Bergen)  Alpine, Bogota, Cresskill, Englewood, Englewood Cliffs, Fort Lee, Hackensack, Leonia, Northvale, Palisades Park, Rockleigh, Teaneck, Tenafly

  • LD 37: Gordon M. Johnson (D) for Senate and Shama A. Hadier (D) and Ellen J. Park (D) for Assembly

District 38 – (Bergen and Passaic)  Bergenfield, Fair Lawn, Glen Rock, Hasbrouck Heights, Hawthorne, Lodi, Maywood, New Milford, Oradell, Paramus, River Edge, Rochelle Park, Saddle Brook

  • LD 38: Joseph A. Lagana (D) for Senate and Lisa Swain (D) and P. Christopher Tully (D) for Assembly

District 39 – (Bergen and Passaic)  Bloomingdale, Closter, Demarest, Dumont, Emerson, Harrington Park, Haworth, Hillsdale, Mahwah, Montvale, Norwood, Oakland, Old Tappan, Park Ridge, Ramsey, Ringwood, River Vale, Saddle River, Upper Saddle River, Wanaque, Washington (Bergen), Westwood, Woodcliff Lake

  • LD 39: Ruth Dugan (D) for Senate and Karlito Almeda (D) and Melinda Iannuzzi (D) for Assembly.

District 40 – (Bergen, Essex, Morris and Passaic)  Allendale, Cedar Grove, Franklin Lakes, Ho-Ho-Kus, Little Falls, Midland Park, Pequannock, Pompton Lakes, Ridgewood, Riverdale, Totowa, Waldwick, Wayne, Woodland Park, Wyckoff

  • LD 40: Kristin Corrado (R) for Senate and Kevin Rooney (R) and Christopher DePhillips (R) for Assembly


Section 4: Bergen County Government Endorsements:

These candidates go through the same Local Screening Committee as all other candidates, but stays Local (instead of going to the NJEA PAC Operating Committee). The Board of County Commissioners fund our Bergen County Academies and Technical Schools, Special Services and Bergen Community College.